LOCAL: Winners of the 2014 Australia Shipping and Maritime Industry Awards Revealed

Around 350 industry representatives enjoyed the Australian shipping industry’s night of nights, the Australian Shipping & Maritime Industry Awards, last night in Sydney.

Our 2014 Winners:
Liner Trade to South-East Asia Award
Winner: K-Line
Highly Commended: ANL and APL
We would like to thank category sponsor Fremantle Ports.

Liner Trade to North East Asia
Winner: ANL
Highly Commended: Hamburg Sud & COSCO.

Liner Trade to New Zealand, Pacific Islands And Papua New Guinea
Winner: Hamburg Sud
Highly Commended: Sofrana and Pacific International Line

Liner Trade to North America
Winner: Hamburg Sud
Highly Commended: Hapag Lloyd and CMA CGM.

Customer Service Award
Winner: Hamburg Sud
Highly Commended: K-Line and OOCL
We would like to thank category sponsor DP World Australia.

Environmental Transport Award
Winner: Franmarine Underwater Services
Highly Commended: Hamburg Sud
We would like to thank category sponsor Wallenius Wilhelmsen.

Safe Transport Award
Winner: Maritime Engineers
Highly Commended: Sea Swift
We would like to thank category sponsor Rightship.

Freight Forwarder Of The Year
Winner: Customs Agency Services
We would like to thank category sponsor QUBE Ports & Bulk.

Project Cargo Award
Winner: Mermaid Marine Australia
Highly Commended: Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics & CargoLive Logistics
We would like to thank category sponsor Port of Darwin Corporation.

Customs Broker of the Year
Winner: Bronwyn Revell
Highly Commended: Commercial Freight & Logistics & Jason Mesiti, customs manager of Freight Mart International.

Seafarers’ Welfare Award
Joint Winners: Port of Brisbane & Sister Mary Leahy
Highly Commended: ANL Container Lines
We would like to thank category sponsor the Australian Maritime Safety Authority.

Maritime Services Award
Joint Winners: Australasian Institute of Marine Surveyors and Ravi Nijjer
Highly Commended: STOK Marine

Supply Chain Excellence
Winner: Asciano Limited
Highly Commended: Maersk Line

Port Or Terminal of the Year
Winner: Darwin Port Corporation
Highly Commended: Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group
We would like to thank category sponsor Svitzer Australia.

New Generation Award
Winner: Chris Russell, project manager, Westlink Logistics.

Newsmaker of the Year
Australian Maritime Safety Authority
We would like to thank category sponsor Maritime Employees Training Ltd.

Australian Maritime Hall of Fame
Dr Terry O’Brien , inventor of the Dynamic Under Keel Clearance system and founder of OMC International.


We would like to thank our Award sponsors: Fremantle Ports, Darwin Port Corporation, DP World, Australian Maritime Safety Authority, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics, Patrick, Rightship, Svitzer, Qube Ports & Bulk, Maritime Employees Training Ltd.

We would like to thank our table sponsors: Customs Agency Services and PB Towage.

We would also like to thank the judging panel for their deliberations – it is a difficult task considering the outstanding number of nominations received for this year’s awards – a record 130 submissions.

The judging panel comprised:

  • David Field of Field & Associates and the chairman of the Merchant Navy War Memorial Fund who chaired the panel
  • David Anderson, CEO of Ports Australia
  • Brian Lovell, CEO Australian Federation of International Forwarders
  • Steve Morris, CEO Custom Brokers & Forwarders Council of Australia
  • Rod Nairn CEO of Shipping Australia
  • Jim Wilson, editor Lloyd’s List Australia.

The judging panel did not assess the liner trade awards or the Customer Service Award – these were assessed by a combination of Lloyd’s List Australia schedule reliability statistics over random survey periods and the results of Lloyd’s List Australia on-line survey in regard to customer satisfaction and customer service.

Also the panel did not select the Newsmaker of the Year or the 2015 inductee into the Australian Maritime and Transport Hall of Fame – these decisions were made by senior management of Lloyd’s List Australia.

Lloyd’s List Australia will be covering the Awards night in full details in this week’s newspaper.


Reprinted with permission from Lloyd’s List Australia 

You Might Also Like